Tuesday, June 20, 2006

more good stuff from Cuban

Cuban seems to have all answers - Published June 20, 2006, Florida Sun-Sentinel

Dallas owner Mark Cuban dressed in the jersey of suspended Maverick Jerry Stackhouse at Game 5 of the NBA Finals. He yelled at referees on the court after it.

He criticized officiating and media into the night. Then he went to the computer, where this running e-mail conversation, sort of, was held with South Florida Sun-Sentinel columnist Dave Hyde through Monday afternoon.

Hyde, 2:10 a.m.: "Mark, I [along with every other reporter] have talked with you this series. I was wondering, now that the initial emotion has passed, what are your thoughts are on the end of the game about the loss and the officiating?"

Cuban, 2:24 a.m.: "I'm thrilled to death with how it all turned out and thought the officiating was a nonfactor. My only problem is with reporters and columnists who can't ask an original question or one with any depth. How did you expect me to respond to this e-mail?"

Hyde, 8:44 a.m.: "Your team made its first 18 free throws. Then, with the game on the line, it made three of seven. Regardless of anything else that happened, isn't that the primary reason you lost?"

Cuban, 9:12 a.m.: "You had all night to ask, and that's the best you can do?"

Hyde, same e-mail: "Final question: Do you see a referee blowing a whistle on the grassy knoll?"

Cuban: "Do you see your profs from school rolling their eyes because you once had promise to write something of consequence and this is the path you have taken?"

Hyde, 12:41 p.m.: "Mark, thanks for noticing the progress of my career path. Speaking of great journalists [and realizing this is off our basketball conversation], there's a report you have made an offer to Dan Rather for your HDTV network. What gives?"

Cuban, 12:59 p.m.: "What gives? Doing what no one in corporate media is able to do. Report to uncover news rather than to hit an earnings number."

Hyde, 1:14 p.m.: "Mark, regarding your postgame comments about Wade's `backcourt violation.' In 2000, the NBA enacted a rule allowing teams to inbound the ball from midcourt into the backcourt. Rule 4-VI-g states, `Frontcourt/backcourt status is not attained until a player with the ball has established a positive position in either [court] half.' Given this, do you re-think your position that it was a bad call?"

Cuban, 1:19 p.m.: "The positive position is defined by where he left the court from when he catches the ball. He can catch the ball in frontcourt or backcourt. Wherever he has positive position, the throw-in ends when he catches the ball and normal rules apply. There is confusion by some in the league office because nowhere in the rule book is `positive position' defined in the rulebook. You have to look where they define jump balls to see how it is defined. And applied. My position stands. It was a backcourt yesterday and will be tomorrow, or until they change the rules to say otherwise."

No comments: