Monday, August 30, 2010

Random thoughts...

The Rangers are still 8.5 games up in the West while ace Cliff Lee has lost his last 3 outtings and is 1-4 with a ND in his last 6 starts...

All 82 Dallas Stars games will be broadcast in HD this year... its about time.

The Cowboys have looked awful in their last 2 preseason games... but that's why its the preseason... and the fact they play the Texans in week 3 might have had something to do with it.

Monday, April 26, 2010

Guess who's back...

back again... ok well probably not based on my previous comeback attempt a year and a half ago combined with a new job with ever-expanding responsibility.

In any case, we shall see... so its hockey playoff time and my beloved Dallas Stars are not participating for the second straight year (only the 2nd time that's happened in franchise history and the first since moving to Dallas). I'm rooting for Chicago in the West and Washington in the East but really I mainly dont want either Pittsburgh nor Detroit to win.

Oh and a few of the Stars have gone under the knife here lately with Richards repairing a small labrum tear and Daley and Robidas getting some shoulder work done...

The Rangers are off to a
torrid horrible start and gave tonight's game away by giving up back to back home runs in the top of the ninth.

Random thought... just got a new laptop and am re-syncing my iphone for the first time... taking. for. ever.

Tuesday, November 25, 2008

wow do the Stars suck!

(Click to enlarge)

Yep, the Dallas Stars headed into tonight's game vs Phily as the last place team in the Western Conference and they ended it as the. worst. team. in the NHL! They are 19 points behind Pacific (and Western Conf) leading San Jose and are currently 5 points behind Nashville who currently holds the last playoff spot. The fact that they are just 5 points from the 8th seed appears to be the only reason they dont fire Dave Tippett and ship Marty Turco off to whoever will take him. They're still close enough to make the playoffs and have had to endure key injuries all year... Zubov, Lehtinen, Morrow and now Ott. The Stars play 6 games in the next 10 days (Minn, San Jose, Edm, Calgary, Edm, Colo). I thought Tippett would be gone by now, but if they cant at a minimum split these 6, he's got to be fired. Dallas has to be able to beat teams like Edmonton, Calgary and Colorado.

Monday, November 24, 2008

more BcS talk...

Can anyone explain how a playoff (whether its 8 or 16 teams) doesn't make things better? You include more teams... better; you take more onus off of voters... better; you can lose a game, even late in the year in a conf championship to a good team, and still be in the running... better. All you hear is the "student athletes" and I'd use the student part lightly, will miss too much class by having to play more games, but yet the basketball teams manage to do it, playing in tournaments that last a week or so. Not to mention that EVERY OTHER COLLEGE SPORT has a playoff.

We all know its about the money.... but see, here's what I'd love to know. We all speculate that the voting portion of the BcS is corrupt, and it is, but explain to me after getting drubbed by 44 points, how Tech is still ahead of OU in 2 of the 6 computer polls?!?!? BS, er BcS at its best...

Sunday, November 23, 2008

tech is no more...

So I watched most of the Tortilla Nation demise last night, though by halftime the game was long over. I've had my doubts about this tech team all year, though they were able to meet the challenge until last night. With a week off to prepare and rest, who would have thought they would lay that big of an egg on a national stage. Gone is any change they have at a BcS championship and also gone appears to be Graham Harrell's Heisman hopes. He put up some decent numbers but it was all in the second have during junk time (the last TD coming with 11 secs left). Sam Bradford now assumes the role of front-runner. One thing also seems pretty clear, and that is that OU is definitely the best team in the Big 12. Yeah they lost to texas, but that was almost 2 months ago. OU is a much better team now while the horns appear to have peaked a month ago.

My predictions for today's BCS rankings that will come out in about an hour:
1. Alabama
2. Oklahoma
3. Florida
4. Texas
5. USC

An OU / Florida national championship would be a great match-up... any other combination, eh, I dunno.

Edit: Heh, so what do I know... the actual standings are:
1. Alabama
2. Texas
3. Oklahoma
4. Florida
5. USC

Saturday, November 15, 2008

from a great 80's movie...

one of the best movies in the history of ever...

Tuesday, October 14, 2008


This year's baseball playoffs don't seem to be drawing much attention... maybe because it's headlined by teams from Tampa and Phily? I was hoping for a Dodgers / Red Sox World Series but that seems to be in serious jeopardy with LA now down 3-1. No one watches a Tampa / Phily Series. Where as it could be Manny vs his old team, Torre in LA vs his old rival Boston... but no, probably not gonna happen.